The NBA Has Taken Away Giannis Antetokounmpo’s ‘Stat Padding Triple Double’
Yesterday, we reported about Giannis Antetokounmpo stat-padding his way to a triple-double.
With the Milwaukee Bucks leading the Washington Wizards, Antetokounmpo grabbed the rebound of a missed three with 11 seconds remaining. It was Giannis’ ninth of the game, in addition to his 23 points and 13 assists – leaving him one rebound shy of a triple-double.
So instead of dribbling out the clock, Giannis dribbled to the opposing basket and intentionally missed a layup, in order to collect his 10th rebound – and the triple double – before the final buzzer went off.
Giannis notched a triple-double after tossing himself a rebound 😅
— Bleacher Report (@BleacherReport) March 6, 2023
The NBA however has rescinded Giannis Antetokounmpo’s 10th rebound in the meantime, basically taking away the triple-double. According to Zach Lowe, league rules say that for a field-goal attempt to count as official, the player has to shoot “with intent to score a field-goal”.
The league has rescinded Giannis Antetokounmpo’s 10th rebound last night–and thus his triple-double, sources tell ESPN. League rules say that for a field-goal attempt to count as official, the player has to shoot “with intent to score a field-goal” — i.e. to make the shot.
— Zach Lowe (@ZachLowe_NBA) March 6, 2023